The Ormond Cup

This is the oldest cup in Irish Swimming.  It was presented to Dublin Swimming Club in 1882 for competition as a scratch event over 220 yards.  It was contested over that distance until 1982.  Its list of winners reads like a potted history of Leinster swimming.  Many winners have made swimming history both in the water and in administration.  Some of the earlier winners contributed to the founding of Dublin Swimming Club (1881), the Leinster Branch (1891) and the Irish Amateur Swimming Association (IASA) (1893).  More recently, winners contributed to the establishment of Irish Masters Swimming (1977). Many have been presidents of the Leinster branch and six were presidents of the I.A.S.A. Many have been outstanding Irish swimming champions and waterpolo players. One even won an Olympic gold medal in that sport.

E. H. Andrews was a founder member of D.S.C.,the Leinster Branch and the I.A.S.A. He chaired the inaugural meeting of the LA.S.A., in 1893 and was elected its second president in 1895. W.R. Richardson was the first captain of D.S.C., in 1881 and that year won the Long distance Championship of England over five miles of the Thames in London.
The Dockrell family is well represented in the list of winners as it is in the history of Irish swimming. Most noted of these was George who won twenty Irish titles, was placed third in the U.S. Championhships over 440 and 880 yards, represented Great Britain and Ireland in the 1908 Olympics and in 1909 he was billed as the 100 metres Champion of the World in Paris.
Noel Purcell played on the Irish waterpolo team from 1910 to 1927 and again in 1932. He won an Olympic gold with Great Britain at the 1920 Olympics and played for Ireland at the 1924 & ’28 Olympics. He was elected president of the I.A.SA, in 1920.
  Major M. A. O’Connor was a member of the 1924 waterpolo team and captained the 1928 Olympic team and also swam on the Irish relay team. He was president of the I.A.S.A., in 1926. Diarmuid Murtagh (1932), Tommy Dorgan (1986) and Fergus Barron (1994) were presidents of the I.A.S.A. and there were many more which space does not allow for. The cup was contested for annually until Blackrock Baths closed in 1982.  Unfortunately from 1966 onwards, no space remained for names until a new plinth was provided in 1981.

The Bill Hawkins Cup

The name of Bill Hawkins is synonymous with Dublin Swimming Club.  In 1947 and 1949 he won the Dun Laoghaire Harbour Race which was then a scratch event. This established him as the outstanding distance swimmer in Leinster and earned for him the scratch position in all distance swims of the period.  He was also a winner and record holder of the Leinster 400M freestyle and was placed in the 200M event.

The Claire O’Dwyer Cup

This trophy honours Ireland’s most successful masters swimmer. But it didn’t start there. In 1960 she won the Irish 100 metres butterfly and in 1964 and 65, the 100 metres free style and was placed in senior Irish Championships on no fewer than fourteen occasions. In addition, she won ten golds with Otter relay teams between 1960 and 1968.

In 1964 when she won the 100 metres freestyle, Dawn Fraser was winning her third Olympic 100 metres title. In 1992, at the World Masters Championships in Indianapolis, U.S.A., Claire defeated Dawn in three events. Her placings included one second, three thirds, a fourth and a seventh. But that was just the beginning. Since then, won her first of many World gold medals when she won the 5Km in Montreal, following on with more gold at the World Championships in Sheffield in record time. She has also been a winner at the European Championships and in many cases in record times.