About Us

About Us

Foundations of the Club
The Club is the oldest swimming club in Ireland, being founded in 1881. More information about the origins of the club is available on our history page (link).


While we are keen to hear from people, especially those who might like to swim in pool galas and open sea events. Our membership is currently closed to new applications.

Membership of DSC is based on an annual subscription this includes: a levy paid to Swim Ireland for insurance, to subsidise pool hire and swimming coaches, and support social events during the year. There are different types of membership to suit your needs.

Membership renewal for existing members takes place in August each year. This is when we renew our affiliation with Swim Ireland. If you need to renew your membership at a different time for the 2022-2023 session, send an email to the club’s secretary dublinswimmingclub@gmail.com

Training sessions cost €7.50, but a 33% reduction applies (i.e. €5 per session) for members who travel in a more sustainable manner – e.g. by bike, public transport, car-pooling or walking. This has proven popular with members. Note this is not applicable to Westwood session.

When and Where We Train & Getting There
We currently have three main training sessions a week in Dublin.

1. ESB Sportsco pool, Thursday @ 8pm-9pm. Nearest dart stations – Lansdowne Road and Grand Canal Dock. You can bring your own bike on the dart off-peak. Nearest Dublin Bike station: Grand Canal Wharf. Dublin Bus options #47 and 77a.

2. UCD Pool Sunday @ 8.30am. Lots of Dublin Bus options to UCD/N11 but check own route as some may not be running that early on a Sunday.

The above club sessions must be pre-booked and pre-paid for. Links are sent via the club WhatsApp group to members in advance.

Members are also welcome to swim in Westwood Clontarf (Tuesday 9pm) in a session run by NAC Masters. All sessions are coached. Smaller groups also train together informally at other times in the week. Payment is cash (exact change required) on the night.

For more information go to our Training page (link).

The Club Committee
The Club is governed by a Committee. Members of the Club may stand for Committee positions ahead of the AGM each year. The AGM is usually in November each year.

There are currently 14 members in the 2023-2024 Committee:
President: Therese Molyneux
Treasurer: Conor O’Connor
Secretary: Amy Keating
COVID Officer and Membership: Caroline Daly
Ordinary Members: Charles Harper, Colin Holman, Colin Monaghan, Darina Barrett, Des King, Ger Devin, Jessica Lamb, Mateusz Blaszczyk, Niall O’Sullivan, Niamh O’Neill.


Women’s Captain: Liz Duggan
Men’s Captain: Niall O’Sullivan


Charles, Channel Swimmer and Liffey winner 2008