Don't just read this; join us!

Dublin Race in Killiney 2015

Created on 12 July 2015 Last Updated on 12 July 2015
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 464

Dublin Swimming Club held their annual race at Killiney on July 12, 2015.  Conditions were almost flat calm, in contrast to the previous day, when another race was held there in choppy waters.  117 men and 86 women took part in the races.  Leading them home in the men’s was Karl Wilkes of North Dublin, second was Shay Dillon of Guinness and the first Dublin swimmer home was Jody Clarke in third, with Paul Nolan close behind in fifth.  The team prize was won by NAC, with Dublin coming second.

Joan Delaney of Phoenix took the women’s title followed closely by Dublin member Julie Anne Somers – last year’s winner.  Tiffany Quinn from Dublin was fourth and Dublin ladies also won the team prize.

This had been the third of three races over the course of the weekend, so there were lots of team points at stake.  Dublin ladies currently lead while Dublin men are now in third place.  In the swimmer of the year league, Dublin legend Claire or Dwyer has opened up a 4 point lead, while in the men’s, Niall O’Sullivan has moved up to fifth.

Dublin swimming club is the oldest swimming club in Ireland, having been established in 1881.  The race today was one of 28 taking place over the course of the summer under the auspices of the Leinster Open Sea Committee, culminating in the Liffey swim on September 19.

Joomla 2.5 Templates designed by Textildruck